UPDATES

2023-11-03
> This past week has not been the best (and this will continue into next week). Next week I have three exams. A few days ago after it got cold I got sick, very poor timing as it has made studying for my exams significantly harder. Luckily I have started to feel better. Ontop of this my university's housing department is actively trying to screw people over. I got my 2024-2025 housing timeslot pretty early and I logged on and there were NO rooms, let alone the single that I wanted. They are releasing the housing in waves. I had to sit and refresh the page for about 5 hours. I got lucky and a few singles in the building I am currently living in were released and I grabbed one before they were all taken.
> Not related to the rest of this update, but as I study longevity and healthspan more and start to implement the practices into my daily life I may make a blog series about this. I am also considering doing some self experimentation with diet and other things and get my biomarkers checked.
2023-10-27
> Today I plan on continuing my learning embedded blog series. My goal is to make posts on bare metal setup and then on some peripherals. I just feel like I do not know enough to actually "teach" it. I know I am not really teaching, I am just documenting what I am learning but still. I just need to really read in depth on some of this stuff to get a good grasp on it. Writing about it makes me need to understand it very well which is nice. I also want to get into learning some lower level computer architecture stuff and write on that.
> I have been reading Outlive by Dr. Peter Attia recently. I have been a listener of Dr. Attia and Dr. Huberman for quite some time now. Over the summer I was really focusing on my health and studying longevity and healthspan but after coming back to school I put that on the back burner. Now I am making it one of my main priorities; finally reading Attias book is assisting in that. I have been very successful with my eating habits as of late though. For the past ~month I have been eating ~95% of my calories from whole/natural foods. This has been a goal of mine for a while.
2023-10-17
> I forgot to update here but about a week ago I also bought the domain coleroberts.dev. This is going to be the "main" domain for this site as I am trying to rebrand it to my personal identity as I said previously.
2023-10-06
> I got a new domain, cole.ac. I didn't expect to be able to find first.TLD since I have a fairly common first name but I just had to find some neat short TLDs. I will probably be rebranding to be more personal and have it be an actual personal website with my real name and such instead of colexdev. I can also buy firstlast.dev so I may end up grabbing that too. We will see.
2023-09-17
> Ever since going back to school I have kind of been on autopilot and just not been present. This seems to always happen, when I am on break I spend lots of time thinking and doing things that I enjoy. But once I have the stress of school I end up losing a lot of that. Sometimes I just feel like if I am doing anything productive that isn't school work its a waste. I need to figure out the best way to get over this so that I can get back to working on the things I enjoy working on and spend time alone thinking.
2023-08-16
> I move back into college on the 19th. I am sort of excited, I have been back at home since January and am ready to be living alone again. I am also a bit excited for the school work believe it or not.
2023-08-09
> I think I am going to compile a list of all the things that I own that are essential to me. Also maybe a list of everything I own. This can help me get rid of things that I do not really need.
2023-08-07
> Planning on starting a blog series of my embedded learnings. Not sure how in depth it will be but it will go over what I am learning and be educational.
2023-08-01
> Got the ADC up and running on my board. As of now I have still just been playing around with some of the peripherals. Maybe I should start thinking of projects to do.
2023-07-28
> Wrote and posted my first blog post. Have been wanting to for a while now but I have no idea how to write. So I just decided to sit down and just write, regardless of how poor the quality is. I may go back through and edit it eventually. I just need to realize that not everything I do has to be perfect. I end up not starting things or finishing them due to the fact that I believe they are not or will not be good enough. But yea, go read the post!
2023-07-21
> Slacking on embedded work. Next week is the last week of my internship. It ends on the 28th. It does not feel like 7 months have gone by already. I am sort of excited to go back to school, will be nice living on my own again. I have gotten into hiking as well. Also been doing lots of thinking about life and self improvement. Most things are going well at the moment, besides my lack of technical work.
2023-07-03
> Bought the NUCLEO-l432KC board to play around with embedded systems. Currently I have a program that blinks an LED with a system timer setup to delay it by a specific number of milliseconds. Also have UART through USB setup so that I can have the board print and I can see it on my computer.
2023-06-22
> Time to go all in on embedded systems learning. This is the career field that I want to be in.
2023-06-21
> I have a Raspberry Pi Zero W that I am not doing anything with and I am considering switching gears with my OSDEV and developing and OS for it intead of x86.
2023-06-16
> I am starting to rewrite ParOS, it will now be a 64-bit OS. I had fun playing around with 32-bit and trying to setup everything on my own and keeping it very simple. But its time to get serious. I am going to have ParOS support SMP, all the systems physical memory, an actual filesystem, userspace and much more. The goal of this rewrite is to get to an actual working userspace and to take advantage of all of the systems resources.
2023-06-08
> Been working on ParOS more. I had stopped for quite some time because I got way too distracted with meaningless things. Now that I am getting back on track I am going to continue on with it. This has by far been my favorite personal project I have done. Ontop of this I have been continuing to spend my time more meaningfully.
2023-05-18
> I have studied and practiced Stoicism on and off for the past few years but have decided to use some of my free time now to take it very seriously. I have been journaling and meditating a lot and purchased a copy of Meditations by Marcus Aurelius to study as well.
2023-05-17
> I have been reading more and more recently, just yesterday I sat outside and listened to all the birds that live in my backyard and read an entire book within three hours. The book was Prisoner B-3087 by Alan Gratz and was very good. I will also be reading lots of non-fiction. I am posting my reading list here
2023-05-15
> The ParOS filesystem is no longer as bad as it once was, before I had a fixed allocation of sectors for each file, now I am having a set of pointers that each point to a sector on the disk. Iirc I am only supporting 12.8kb files but can extend this in the future.
2023-04-27
> I have created a small, pretty poor custom file system for ParOS. I can't decide if I should go back and refactor poorly written parts of the codebase and add more features to previous things or move on to my future goals for the OS. Also went back to the old CSS for this site, I prefer this over what was here previously since I wrote this myself. Not much else going on, but it has been beautiful weather so I have been taking advantage of that.
2023-03-09
> ParOS is now running on real hardware!
2023-03-03
> ParOS is going well so far. Nothing too complex so far, have to write the memory manager next. Also this year has been the best year I have had in a while. Internship going well, finally getting started on my OS, and I have been improving myself in other parts of my life as well.
2023-02-09
> Internship is going well so far. Nice to have a break from school. Working with firmware is pretty neat, fits well with my interests. Haven't made much progress on operating system stuff besides some reading. I am going to be doing that soon. My OS will be called ParOS.
2023-01-01
> Happy new year!
2022-12-19
> Home on winter break now. Won't be back at school until Fall semester. Last summer I slacked on what I wanted to work on, I am going to use this winter break as well as time after work to focus on learning operating systems and starting work on my own.
2022-11-20
> Been a while since I posted here. Received and accepted and offer for an internship as an embedded software engineer. Wish me luck.
2022-07-02
> Spent like 4 hours completely revamping my neovim config. Added a lot of stuff and made it organized, will be posted on my GitHub soon.
2022-06-23
> Been almost a month, wow. Within the past few days I have started learning Rust and its pretty neat. Going to be posting my first Rust project on my GitHub sometime soon. Just not too much to update with on here, just doing work, programming wise and spirituality/philosophical wise. Also going to be spending time with family and friends soon along with taking a trip alone. But maybe I will get around to posting on this, who knows. Only time can tell. Take care.
> Edit: Some of my past work fell through so I was slacking a bit. Also got back into lifing again recently.
2022-05-31
> Its somehow already almost June. I have been home from school for a bit over 3 weeks and it feels like its been no time at all. Going way too fast
2022-05-25
> Nothing new here as I have been hard at work with Vex AI stuff. This is what my last post was referencing.
2022-05-20
> Big things coming. Possibly a paper. I will also be taking on new roles as well. Information regarding all of this will be posted here and my GitHub. Stay tuned for some amazing stuff.
2022-05-18
> Started my journey of learning operating systems yesterday. I have started reading "Operating Systems Design and Implementation" by Tanenbaum. ColeOS coming soon ;)
2022-05-09
> Finally trying to fully rid my use of streaming services. Used spotdl to download all of my spotify music and I am now using cmus as my music player. I highly recommend both of these if you are trying to switch from spotify to owning your music. I am going to continue to get rid of more services as time goes on.
2022-05-04
> Gave in and switched back to Qutebrowser, I just love it too much.
2022-05-01
> Finals start tomorrow. Not feeling prepped at all, will update after to share my how I think I did. Also after finals I am hoping to put some more work into this site and other things regarding my online presence. Stay tuned ;).
> Edit: Did how I wanted to on exams so far, break is almost here
2022-04-29
> Calc 2 is hard.
2022-04-24
> Calisthenics progress going great. Ripped the hell out of my calluses though so going to be out for a while. Currently have increased my handstand hold and tuck planche hold time. Also learned I can kinda do a tuck front lever.
2022-04-14
> Trying to switch to Firefox from Qutebrowser and it kinda sucks. Qutebrowser feels like home since I use vim bindings everywhere.